2021 European Rowing Championships Varese (ITA) - News

Rowing: Europe's elite gathers in Italy

FISA European Rowing Championships 2021

Varese (Italy), April 9th - 11th 2021

The European Rowing Championships has a long history having been staged almost annually from 1893 to 1973. Reintroduced in 2007, the championships has become an essential regatta for European rowing nations. All 45 European member national federations plus Israel are eligible to compete. There are 22 boat classes on the programme. In 2021, the European Championships will head to Lake Varese regatta course.



The following rights restrictions apply:


a.)    Rowing Rights holders (= garantours): No restrictions in terms of time and length of news broadcasts


b.)    All other channels:

  •  Full news embargo for Germany in place - except for ARD / ZDF and its affiliates (and select regional channels)
  • In the following countries (=  except for rightsholder) news airings are ONLY allowed AFTER 6:30 PM local time:

Australia / China / Croatia / Czech Republic / Denmark / Estonia / France / Germany / Greece / Hungary / Ireland / Italy / Lithuania / Netherlands / Norway / Poland / Romania / Russia / Serbia / Slovenia / Spain / Switzerland / United Kingdom


  • News airings are “free of license fee” up to a max. length of 3 minutes. For longer broadcasts, please request access fee from your territory’s rights holder or the EBU­
  • Online usage as a lone-standing news piece is not permitted, just embedded as sports report in full news segment